Prash's Blog

SVN Working Copy text base is corrupt – Checksum mismatch – Try cleanup May 19, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — prazjain @ 10:39 am
Tags:

I have noticed this error crop up a few times randomly when I am about to check in my file changes in SVN. I have a SVN server on my home machine, and I am the only one checking in code in that code repository. I have Visual SVN server and Tortoise SVN client installed.

I was able to narrow it down to the fact that I did refactoring or search and replace by Eclipse in my xml files. Both the times the xmls were fine per-se but Tortoise SVN complained about checksum mismatch.
So if you are doing refactoring or search and replace in IDE then be sure that you will also get this error.
To resolve it first keep a backup of the new modified file that you want to check in, then to commit changes there are two ways :

  • Delete the file from the repository on server using repo-browser. Update the directory on client local machine so the file will be removed. Now use the backup file to copy over the file again and add it into the repository again.
  • Another way to do it, revert the changes on the file using tortoise svn, then go to parent directory and do a cleanup on directory (select the option to revert recursively, delete unversion and delete ignored files).
 

Leave a Reply

